Heat Pump City of the Year 2017

For the Heat Pump City of the Year Award 2017 the  winner is the City of Vienna!


The jury was convinced by Vienna's inspiring approach towards decarbonisation with heat pumps. They have put in place a full strategy for heat pump support and deployment: from the online map of the geothermal potential of the city of Vienna to specific financial support and informative brochure for its citizens. Read more about the Vienna Best Practice Example


The evening was opened by the signing ceremony of the DeacarbHeat support pledge by his highness Prince Laurent of Belgium and the Minister of the Brussels Energy & Environment  Ms Celine Fremault.


The Minister then introduced the Heat Pump City of the Year Award ceremony by highlighting the importance of local authorities in the shift to a low carbon economy in EU and stating that during her mandate she is committed to helping Brussels Region to be on track for full decarbonisation by 2050.

After a quick round of presentation of the 3 finalists  (please click on the name of the City to have a look at the presentations Berlin - Vienna - Trondheim), the winner was finally announced by Minister Fremault. The trophy was handed over to the Head of Vienna‚Äôs Energy Center Waltraud Schmid.


But just when the ceremony seemed to be over, Thomas Nowak took the microphone and announced that the show was not over!

As the level of all 3 finalists was very high and the projects were unique in their field of application, the jury has decided to award:

Berlin with a special prize for the best solution for the building renovation sector


Trondheim for the best visualisation of the heat pump technology.


Congratulations to the 3 finalists/winners!!



To learn more about the HPCY, have a look at the website: http://hpcy.ehpa.org